CENTA Certification is a certification for Grade 1 to 12 teachers, designed to recognize outstanding teachers and connect them to a range of opportunities. It is based on rigorously developed CENTA Standards and can be taken by full-time teachers, supplementary and voluntary teachers and aspiring teachers such as B.Ed students and professional fellows in Education.

CENTA Certificate aims to:

  • Deeply assess the varied aspects of excellence in teaching and recognize outstanding teachers.

  • Facilitate a professional growth environment for teachers by establishing linkage between the CENTA Certificate and career opportunities aligned with the interest and profile of the awardee. Opportunities may range from weightage in the recruitment process of schools, to being one of the inputs in a school’s promotion process, to access to unique professional development options and additional roles such as curriculum developer, teacher trainer, etc.

  • Support professional development of teachers, by providing participants with a detailed view of their performance in different teaching competencies, as well as potentially connecting them to training entities which can support them in their professional development. Please note that CENTA itself is an independent certification entity and does not provide training for teachers.

CENTA Certificate currently consists of five modules:
  1. Classroom Communication
  2. Subject Expertise
  3. Content Development
  4. Student Assessment & Remediation
  5. Professional Competencies

These modules can be taken independently and at the candidate’s own pace. Each of the first four modules leads to independent CENTA Micro-Credentials which are relevant for specific roles/opportunities. All five modules, when completed successfully, add up to the CENTA Certification. Additional specialist modules will be added over time; for example, Technology in Education, Diversity & Inclusion.

Details of Modules

Subject-Grade Combinations and Levels

Subject-grade combinations

The Certification and Micro-Credentials are currently available in 14 subject-grade combinations. The syllabus is Board agnostic:

  • Primary (Language, Maths, EVS) in English, Hindi, Tamil, Telugu medium
  • Middle School English, Middle School Maths, Middle School Science, Middle School Social Studies (All in English medium)
  • High School English, High School Maths, High School Biology, High School Physics, High School Chemistry and High School Economics (All in English medium)
More subjects will be added over time.

Levels of Certification

CENTA Certification is available in three levels based on the candidate’s teaching experience:
  • Level 1 (L1): For new teachers (typically 0 to 3 years of experience)
  • Level 2 (L2): For senior teachers (typically 3 to 10 years of experience)
  • Level 3 (L3): For experienced teachers (typically more than 10 years of experience)

Please note that the number of years of experience for defining levels is only meant to be a guideline and candidates should refer to the CENTA Standards to select the level that suits their experience and competencies the best.

The CENTA modules facilitate specialisation and career growth of the candidates. An indicative mapping between modules at different levels and associated roles is presented below.

Certification Process

CENTA Certification is fully technology-enabled and the submissions can be done online from anywhere. The Assessment of the Submissions is undertaken by a panel of Expert Assessors.
Each module entails the candidate to take a proctored test along with module specific submissions.

For the candidates who have participated in the CENTA Teaching Professionals’ Olympiad (TPO) in the same subject-grade combination, their TPO scores can be considered in place of certain objective questions in the Proctored Assessment.

Certification Schedule

The submission timeline for each module starts on the first day of the month specified in the module schedule and ends on the last day of the month (unless it is a weekend or a public holiday, in which the start and end dates will be extended by a day).

The proctored test will be scheduled in the last week of the month (window will be open on Friday and Saturday unless it is a public holiday, in which case it will be scheduled for the next day)

CENTA will declare the results within two months of the candidate taking a particular module. For instance, if a candidate enrols for a module in December, the results will be declared in February.
Enrolment for the CENTA Certification in any subject-grade will start when the first module for the particular subject-grade combination is available.

Key Takeaways

Key takeaways for CENTA Certification/Modules candidates

Leading schools in India are giving weightage to CENTA Certification/ Micro-Credentials in their recruitment and promotion process.

Eligibility, Fees and Validity


Candidates applying for the CENTA Certification and Micro-Credentials must be:
(a) At least 18 years of age as on the date of application; and
(b) A graduate in any discipline (or a diploma holder in Education if not a graduate).


For modules leading to Micro-Credentials (L1/L2/L3) INR 4000 each
For CENTA Certification (L1)INR 12000
For CENTA Certification (L2/L3)INR 15000

Winners of CENTA Teaching Professionals’ Olympiad (TPO) and winning teachers working with students from a lower socio-economic background may be eligible for a reduced fee. Please write to us at certification@centa.org if you fit the above criteria and wish to avail the discounted fee.

Please note
  • Any expenses associated with submission or travel will be entirely borne by candidates and are not part of the registration fee mentioned above.
  • There is no difference in fees for different subject-grade combinations.


The CENTA Certificate will be valid for five years from the date of award, and can be renewed thereafter. The awardee can also upgrade to the next level any time, based on his/her readiness to demonstrate the required competencies for that level.